County of Passaic Board of County Commissioners

OFFICE OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Director Pasquale "Pat" Lepore
Deputy Director Cassandra "Sandi" Lazzara
John W. Bartlett
Orlando Cruz
Rodney De Vore
Terry Duffy
Bruce James

COMMITTEE NAME

401 Grand Street
Paterson, New Jersey 07505
Tel: 973-881-4402
Fax: 973-742-3746



Matthew P. Jordan, Esq.
Administrator
Nadege D. Allwaters, Esq.
County Counsel
Louis E. Imhof
Clerk Of The Board

Date: Jun 17, 2025 - 5:30 PM

Agenda: RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE EXECUTION OF MUNICIPAL COOPERATION AGREEMENTS WITH PASSAIC COUNTY MUNICIPALITIES TO PARTICIPATE IN THE PASSAIC COUNTY COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT PROGRAM, FOR FISCAL YEARS 2026, 2027, AND 2028

THIS RESOLUTION WAS REQUESTED BY:		
PLANNING AND ECONOMIC		
DEVELOPMENT	_	
REVIEWED BY:		
8	Official Resolution#	
Matthew P. Jordan, Esq. APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY:	Meeting Date	6/17/2025
	Introduced Date	6/12/2025
	Adopted Date	
	Agenda Item	84.
	CAF#	
	- Purchase Req. #	
Nadege D. Allwaters, Esq.	Result	

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE EXECUTION OF MUNICIPAL COOPERATION AGREEMENTS WITH PASSAIC COUNTY MUNICIPALITIES TO PARTICIPATE IN THE PASSAIC COUNTY COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT PROGRAM, FOR FISCAL YEARS 2026, 2027, AND 2028

WHEREAS, the County of Passaic (hereafter "County") is a government body incorporated pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:18-1, et seq. and vested with all rights contained therein; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:20-1, the Board of County Commissioners for the County of Passaic (hereafter "Board") is vested with decision making powers on behalf of the County; and

WHEREAS, Title I of the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974, as amended (hereafter "Title I"), provides federal funds to Passaic County to implement eligible community development activities; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with 24 CFR Sec. 570.307(a), the US Department of Housing and Urban Development (hereafter "USHUD") has instructed Passaic County through USHUD Notice Community Planning and Development Notice CPD-25-04 (hereafter "CPD-25-04"), attached hereto, to implement the Urban County Re-Qualification process which includes the execution of Cooperation Agreements with Passaic County municipalities eligible to participate in the Passaic County Community Development Block Grant (hereafter "CDBG") Program for federal fiscal years 2026, 2027 and 2025; and

WHEREAS, USHUD Notice CPD-25-04 also instructs the County of Passaic to formally notify each currently participating municipality that they have the right to elect to be excluded from the Urban County; and

WHEREAS, Passaic County and the Municipalities agree to cooperate to undertake, or assist in undertaking, community renewal and lower-income housing assistance activities; and

WHEREAS, twelve (12) participating municipalities (1. Borough of Bloomingdale; 2. Borough of Haledon; 3. Borough of Hawthorne; 4. Township of Little Falls; 5. Borough of North Haledon; 6. Borough of Pompton Lakes; 7. Borough of Prospect Park; 8. Borough of Ringwood; 9. Borough of Totowa; 10. Township of West Milford; 11. Borough of Wanaque; and 12. Borough of Woodland Park) have adopted resolutions and the appropriate municipal officials have executed automatically renewing Cooperation Agreements; and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of the County of Passaic (hereafter "Board") has considered the proposed program, along with the recommendations of the CDBG Program staff and is of the opinion that it is in the best interest of the County of Passaic and the residents of the County to execute all necessary Cooperation Agreements and all necessary documents with the currently participating municipalities (1.Borough of Bloomingdale; 2. Borough of Haledon; 3. Borough of Hawthorne; 4. Township of Little Falls; 5. Borough of North Haledon; 6. Borough of Pompton Lakes; 7. Borough of Prospect Park; 8. Borough of Ringwood; 9. Borough of Totowa; 10. Township of West Milford; 11. Borough of Wanaque; and 12. Borough of Woodland Park); and

WHEREAS, in this agreement, the County has the authority to carry out activities which shall be funded from annual CDBG funding for federal Fiscal Years 2026, 2027, and 2028 appropriations and the County has final responsibility for selecting projects, preparing the Five-Year Plan as required by USHUD and annually filing Action Plans; and

WHEREAS, the County and the Municipalities agree to take all actions necessary to ensure compliance with the Urban County Re-Qualification required by the Title and 24 CFR 570.307(a) USHUD of the CDBG regulations; and

WHEREAS, the automatically renewing agreements with 1.Borough of Bloomingdale; 2. Borough of Haledon; 3. Borough of Hawthorne; 4. Township of Little Falls; 5. Borough of North Haledon; 6. Borough of Pompton Lakes; 7. Borough of Prospect Park; 8. Borough of Ringwood; 9. Borough of Totowa; 10. Township of West Milford; 11. Borough of Wanaque; and 12. Borough of Woodland Park shall continue to be in effect upon the adoption of the resolution; and

WHEREAS, this matter was discussed via email on May 29, 2025, by the Planning and Economic Development Committee, and is being recommended to the Board for approval; and

NOW, THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED, in accordance with 24 CFR Sec. 570.307(a), the Commissioner Director, the Clerk to the Board and the Director of the Division of Economic Development, Department of Planning and Economic Development are hereby authorized to submit all executed Municipal Cooperation Agreements, municipal resolutions and correspondence, as applicable, to the US Department of Housing and Urban Development and act as the authorized representatives of the County of Passaic to execute all necessary documents and certifications on behalf of the County of Passaic; and

LET IT BE FURTHER RESOLVED that a certificated copy of this resolution shall be forwarded to the participating municipalities, the Passaic County Department of Planning and Economic Development and the US Department of Housing and Urban Development.

ZMQ June 17, 2025